NEW Maryland Requirements: If your license expires on or after January 1, 2012 all licensees will be required to complete 3 hours of Agency. Brokers, Office Managers and Team Leaders will be required to complete 3 hours of Supervision every other renewal cycle in place of real estate Legislative Update. The total number of clock hours will not increase. They will remain at 15 hours, but it will consist of 10.5 mandatory and 4.5 elective.
Maryland Requirement: If your license expires on or after October 2, 2008, all licensees will be required to complete 15 clock hours of continuing education. 7.5 Mandatory Hours to include:
• Real Estate Legislative Update — 3 hours • Fair Housing — 1.5 hours **(NOTE: Commercial licensees are not required to take Fair Housing.) • Maryland Code of Ethics, Flipping & Predatory Lending— 3 hours
7.5 Elective Hours **(NOTE: 9 Elective Hours for commercial licensees.)
All Washington, DC licensees are required to complete 15 hours continuing education in order to renew their real estate license: 9 Mandatory Hours to include:
6 Elective Hours: • All Maryland courses offered by Dias Real Estate Academy can be processed as elective credit in DC.
NEW Virginia Requirement: Virginia licensees who have earned their license since January 1, 2004 must complete 30 hours of continuing education prior to the first renewal of their license. Licensees may choose one of the following tracks to their mandatory hours: 1) residential real estate, 2) commercial real estate or 3) property management. Failure to complete the 30 hour curriculum shall result in the non-renewal of the license until the curriculum is completed. The Virginia General Assembly created a 30 hour education requirement for new licensees to complete within their first two years after receiving a license. Virginia licensees whose license expires after July 1, 2004, are required to complete 16 hours of continuing education to renew their real estate license as follows: 8 Mandatory Hours to include: • Ethics — 3 hours • Fair Housing — 2 hours • Legal Updates, Real Estate Agency and Real Estate Contracts — 3 hours
8 Elective Hours: These may include any of the following courses offered by the Dias Real Estate Academy which can be processed as elective credit in VA. *What Everyone Needs to Know about Budgeting for Survival and Success – 3 hours *Foreclosure/Foreclosure Law - 3 hours *Short Sales Basics – 3 hours *Tax Law Update – 1.5 hours *Agency Law – 1.5 hours
Brokers whose license expires on or after July 1, 2008 are required to complete an additional 8 hours, for a total of 24 hours.
*In addition to the regular courses requirements listed above, all licensees are required to take a one-time 2-hour course on Limited Service Agencies, . NEW Requirement. All new applicants for a Virginia real estate license must provide fingerprints for a Virginia criminal background check.